Pioneer SD-533HD5 Green light flashes then back to standby

44 posts / 0 new
Last post
Tr0ll
Pioneer SD-533HD5 Green light flashes then back to standby

Help anyone!!!!!!

I am an electronic technician and I have a Pioneer that is 6 years old, back when 480p/1080i was CUTTING edge!!! The problem is this: last year the thing died when I pulled the plug while it was on. Simple enough, I pulled the covers, found the fuse and got another year out of it. Great, now last week the RED convergence went out and I thought I was screwed, but I found a link here that said the STK chips fix this 90% of the time, so I ordered them for $6 a piece plus $6 for shipping and got my TV back for $18!!!!! BIG PROBLEM NOW!!! My wife turns it on after I spend 2 hours optimizing it and it's dead... green light comes on flashes like 6 times and shuts down. I also noticed that the RED LED on the power board that says "power board fault", is on. I am assuming the intelligent fuse circuitry is reporting an overcurrent somewhere. So here is where I am at... I found that there are 6 Pots on the left of the TV, 3 for RGB focus and 3 for RGB gain. I turned down the gain and got my TV back, then I optimized it again and it is gone again!!! Damn!! So my question is this, is this TV getting tired, is there a quick fix, or what causes this problem?? I saw the manual for $15, but if someone out there can tell me that I am wasting my time/money on it, I WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE IT!!! I repair CT scanners for a living and this TV is kicking my a$$!!!

I appreciate any input, thank you!!!

zapdbf
Ok, i have seen many pioneers