Sony Rear projection Model:KP-51WS520 2 blinks

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
maldf4
Sony Rear projection Model:KP-51WS520 2 blinks

I am trying to troubleshoot a problem with my television (KP-51WS520). I am getting 2 blink pause for 3 seconds and repeat. I have found the service manual online and have been going through the circuit testing componets as suggested suggest around the D board. From what I gather Q5001 and Q5201 are shorted. Does anyone have suggestions or experianced this specific problem on how to resolve this issue. I have some electronic background so I am giving repairing the TV a shot. Its that or put it out on the curb. I figured make it a learning experiance.

The TV turns on for a few seconds with picture and sound then turns bright blue then goes to standby. 2 blinks 3 second pause 2 blinks it does this continuous.

H.OUT (Q5001) is shorted. (D Board)

+B PWM (Q5201) is shorted. on the D board

(D Board)

Dwray
IF TV Powers UP and gets a

IF TV Powers UP and gets a Blue Screen Then Q5001 & Q5201 are not SHORTED ! when Q5001 HOT is Shorted TV will NOT Power Up NO HV ! Are you sure its 2 blinks ? Almost sounds Like you have a Shorting BLUE Projection Tube

maldf4
Positive for the continuous 2

Positive for the continuous 2 blinks. I can hear the high voltage and like I said I get video and sound for a a few seconds then the blue screen then to standby. Is there anything I can do to test for a shorting projection tube?

Dwray
unplug the BLUE Crt Board

unplug the BLUE Crt Board from the Blue tube Then if tv stays on the tube is your problem

maldf4
Dwray said: unplug the BLUE

Dwray said: unplug the BLUE Crt Board from the Blue tube Then if tv stays on the tube is your problem