How to Connect Multiple PCs to LCD TV

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Valentina
How to Connect Multiple PCs to LCD TV

Hi Everyone,

I have been struggling with my home office for about 3 weeks. I was hoping someone in this great site could help me. I am not technical about how electronics work, but I will try my best to describe my problem.

I currently have 4 hp pcs and 2 hp laptops networked to share 2 printers wirelessly. (One of the pcs is in another room) I have a wireless linksys router to get internet access. Two years ago we purchased a 32" Polaroid HD-Ready flat panel LCD TV/Monitor model: FLM-3201 (which sat in a box until now). We also have a cable box, a D-link media player model DSM-520 and a compact home theater Bose 3.2.1 GS Series II.

We want to be able to display photos, files and browse the internet from any of the computers we have and be able to display it in the 32" TV.  

1.      How can this be done?  

2.      Do I need to hardwire all the computers or can it be done wirelessly?   

3.      Do I need to have a switch to let the TV know which computer to display? 

4.      If I do need to hardwire the TV to a PC in order to view files and websites, can I designate a key in my keyboard to send a signal to display into the TV? (Similar principal to how PCs send a signal to networked printers to print). Does anyone know how to do that? 

This stuff is way over my head. I really don't know what to do; I have contacted Geek Squad, but they seem intimidated by the scope of work needed in my office.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Valen

Matt Whitlock
Alrighty, let's see if we can

Alrighty, let's see if we can scope out some use cases.

If it were just photos and media, you really wouldn't need to hook any of the PCs up technically, but files and internet means a physical PC to TV connection.