pioneer SD-P5191K odd problems

24 posts / 0 new
Last post
smrf1080
pioneer SD-P5191K odd problems

Ok, thanks in advance for any help with these frustrating problems.  I am having two major problems.  First, when tv is first turned on, it will turn off after 1-5 minutes.  I can only turn it back on by using power button on tv (remote not able).  This continues for about an hour.  Second, the screen has started flashing to a blank screen periodically.  When it happens the screen goes gray/black every thirty seconds for about 1 second.  I have extensive electrical background but am unfamiliar with electrical design of this tv.  Please help!! Frown

Larry Dillon
Sounds like bad solder

Sounds like bad solder connections on the sweep printed circuit board.

smrf1080
Thanks for the reply Larry,

Thanks for the reply Larry, would u suggest i take the board out and examine? or freeze spray could maybee be used to locate the bad solder joints? I am strapped for cash so I would like to attempt to fix it myself before calling in the pros.

Larry Dillon
I would take out the board

I would take out the board and look for bad solder connections first. On the solder side of this board you should see where a lot of parts get hot.

smrf1080
I have started to clean and

I have started to clean and inspect the electrical components. Do you know what the part number is for the board you refered to (sweep printed circuit board), or where it would be located in this model tv (what electrical components are soldered on it). Thanks again Larry, you have already been a huge help.

smrf1080
well I opened up the tv and

well I opened up the tv and observed what was happening when the tv turned off on me. After 5 to 10 minutes, the tv sound increases for a second or two, then goes to standby. When this happens LED #6610 lights up on what appears to be the incoming power circuit board. Do you know what this means or how I can solve this problem.

Larry Dillon
That means the regulator