SONY KP51WS510 Suggestions??

22 posts / 0 new
Last post
.:fLiPt:.
SONY KP51WS510 Suggestions??

Basically, My TV (KP51WS510) will not come on and I am getting 8 blinks. I managed to find the service manuals for a KP51WS500 so I assume for the most part they are simlar in design. This manual states that the Flyback (T8005) is bad according to the 8 blinks. I also found another random post somewhere from a repair person stating he had to replce both the FBT and the HV Block to repair this same problem. I've got a couple of questions I thought I would ask before jumping into this.

1). Should I try just the FBT first without the HV Block or do these two usually go at the same time?

2). Is this a difficult repair? I have basic electronic knowledge and have repaired other components on mainboards and etc... but I am definately new to TV repair and have never really played with any High Voltage components and would like to know what precautions should be taken...

3). Also when hunting for these parts online after crossreferencing various parts I think the 500 and 510 may use different FBTs. If so, does anyone know the correct Part# for the 510?

4). Also does anyone have a parts supplier they could reccomend?

Thanks for any suggestions. I would really appreciate the help....

Larry Dillon
Well, where do i start out