JVC TH-C30 Home Theatre

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
Randy
JVC TH-C30 Home Theatre

I have a jvc home theatre with a power subwoofer. When I turn on the unit my sub doesn't power on. I've replaced the sub and it doesn't power on either. the only component in the main unit that looks like it may have got hot (browning around pins on chipboard may be normal) is a 5 pin piece which looks like a transistor marked STRG6651 what is this and could it be a problem? If not what else could be wrong?

Larry Dillon
That part is a regulator IC. 

That part is a regulator IC.  The data sheet is HERE.

Randy
Thanks for the info. Larry. I

Thanks for the info. Larry. I'm a rookie at electronics and am just starting out in a course and so far don't know a whole lot. I was wondering if it's possible that this could regulate the current or act as a divider to turn on my power sub through the main unit? I have no idea how to test this IC but do you think this theory might work?

Larry Dillon
nope. This IC is for the

nope. This IC is for the regulation of the power supply. If you tryed another unit and the replacement unit did not work, I would look into the connections on the main unit and on the sub. Something is telling the unit not to switch on. Has it ever worked? Make sure the audio leads are connected to an output on the main unit. Arte there any other connection to the subs beside the audio leads and the power cord?

Randy
Thanks Larry. Yes the unit

Thanks Larry. Yes the unit did work fine. I assumed buying a new sub would work and didn't. The only connections are 1 special cable from the main unit to the sub, it's similar to s video cable but is a special JVC cable with about 8 pins in each end, and all speaker wires run off the back of the sub and then the sub has it's power cord. There are no audio cables on the back of the main unit.

Larry Dillon
Ok so the sense on line and