After replacing a convergence circuit!

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Paul A.
After replacing a convergence circuit!

Yesterday I replaced my convergence circuit on my Pioneer Elite projection tv.  It took me a while to diagnose the problem, with the help of techlore I was able to read enough to figure it out.  I did not replace anything on the original circuitboard, I found it easier for me being untrained to order a refurbished circuit from pioneer.  I had to remove two sub assemblies from my old board and resolder them to the new one.  Once I reset all my convergences both center and outer the colors and covergences are fine.  My only other problem is the picture is slightly out of level and very slightly bowed in at the top and bottom.  Is this corrected by the small adjustable "dials" on the circuitboard?  Next to them they have markings which say PIN, KEY, BOW, SKEW.  There are "dials" for both the normal and wide circuits clearly marked on the board.  Being a novice I would like to know if anyone has an answer to this problem before I begin messing with them. 

Thank You in advance Paul

MOtvGuy
Yes, normally a mylar grid is

Yes, normally a mylar grid is place over the front of the screen and the geometry adjustments are made to align up with that. It is possible to eyeball the adjustments.

Paul A.
Thanks, can you tell me what

Thanks, can you tell me what the "switches or dials" do.  What is PIN? What is KEY?  Thanks Paul

Larry Dillon
You really should not attempt

You really should not attempt to adjust this set blindly.  Get the service manual.

Paul A.
The service manual is

The service manual is available only on microfilm.  I called pioneer today and this is what they told me.  So I guess I could use some hints as to what to do.  Thanks Paul

Larry Dillon
Get the microfilm copy and go