Can these Speakers play true Dolby Digital 5.1?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
malcolm333
Can these Speakers play true Dolby Digital 5.1?

I'm kind of new to the whole surround sound "scene" and have a question. I have a Logitech Z-5300E 5.1 Surround Sound Computer Speaker System. I know that the next model up (Z-5500's) have a built in Dolby Digital and DTS decoder. I can't find anything on Dolby Digital for the Z-5300E's. What I want to know is if I play a DVD with Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound in my PC will I be getting the full 5.1 experience with these speakers? Forgive me for being "out of the loop" when it comes to speakers, I'm sure this question has been asked before but I'm just curious.

Larry Dillon
The speakers can only re

The speakers can only re-produce what the design or specs of the speakers or amp is able to do. Almost, or I shoud say any speaker can play back a 5.1 signal, if it is hooked up properly and the range of the speaker is used with in the speakers designed range of function and or to the extent of what the speaker is being used for.

malcolm333
I actually don't have them

I actually don't have them yet (Getting them for Christmas) but they will be hooked up to an Audigy 4 soundcard which means they will be using the three 3.5mm wires (Front, Rear, Centre/Sub). I just wasn't sure if I need to have a Dolby Digital Decoder in the speakers but I'm assuming the sound card decodes the audio right?

Larry Dillon
The Logitec should do just

The Logitec should do just fine, Merry Christmas.

dans_repair_service
The digital 5.1 designation