Hard Drive Install

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
PAULJ
Hard Drive Install

First let me admit, I am a novice at this. I have a Sony Vaio desk top that is 4 years old, model PCV-RX650. The original hard drive died and a new one installed under warrenty 2 years ago. This hard drive drops off when it feels like it and gives me the "recovered from serious error" message. I am attempting to upgrade to a Seagate 250 gig but, I get the message "cannot find the hard drive. insure the hard drive is connected properly"  I believe it is properly connected. Sony will not help me with a 3rd party hard drive and I don't know how to get my desk top to recognize the new hard drive.

Are there settings in the setup menu that I need to change? I am using default settings now. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PAULJ   

Larry Dillon
Are the jumpers on the new

Are the jumpers on the new drive set up to auto detect or to main drive?

PAULJ
Larry,

Larry,

Not sure what you are asking (novice speak for saying I'm computer challenged) but, The flat ribbon connection was hooked up the same as with the old drive. I don't understand where auto detect is.

Larry Dillon
Do you have instructions with

Do you have instructions with the unit?  If so look at the hook up.  Where the plug goes into the drive, there should be some jumpers right next to it.  On the cover should be a small diagram on where to place the jumpers

PAULJ
Thanks. I'll take a look at

Thanks. I'll take a look at the cover. No instructions from Newegg. I'll get back to you tomorrow.

Larry Dillon
Go here and see the video as

Go here and see the video as well as the instructions.

PAULJ
Larry, Thanks for the video