Mini-Disc to PC

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
franklabman
Mini-Disc to PC

Can anyone help a newcomer to the computer age make a connection between a Mini-Disc deck and PC? I have lots of music on mini-discs which I have recorded using my Sony MDS-JE440. I would now like to create computer files of those recordings. It has been suggested to me that the headphone output from the mini-disc player/recorder could be linked to the line-in level input on the PC, but being a complete beginner I do not even know what the line-in level input is or where to find it on my laptop (Compaq C300). Any assistance in non-tech language would be appreciated.

Matt Whitlock
If you're on a notebook it

If you're on a notebook it may be a bit tricky. Not all notebooks have line-level inputs. On occasion, the mic input will double as a line-level input. Unfortunately for you, the C300 is mono or stereo mic only, and I don't think your MD audio out and PC mic jack will play nicely together.

For note, line-level input on a computer is a lot like the red and white plugs on the back of a TV, only in a headphone shaped plug.

Do you have access to a full sized computer? If not, we can find you a USB accessory to help you make this work.

starmystry
This is helpful stuff in

This is helpful stuff in language that even I understand. It would be more convenient for me to use my notebook rather than beg the use of a friend's desktop, so tell me more about a USB accessory that will help. What a great site!

Matt Whitlock
Our pleasure. Don't forget

Our pleasure. Don't forget that anyone can be helpful here at TechLore. So if you see a question that you can answer, dive in and help out. Or, if you just want to chat about gadgets and devices, start or join in a conversation and share your opinion.

On the USB device, something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product...