Sony Vaio Microphone Not working!

72 posts / 0 new
Last post
Buckingham
Sony Vaio Microphone Not working!

Hi, I am new to all of this. Sorry if these seems really dumb to all you experts!

I cannot seem to get the mic on my Sony Viao to work. It was working but now it has stopped. All very annoying.

Can anyone suggest why?

Many thanks!

Matt Whitlock
Double check the connection

Double check the connection for the microphone, and make sure it didn't get unplugged. If it's a notebook with a built in mic, ignore.

Open the mixer settings on your computer and make sure the microphone is not muted or disabled. 

Try those and post back.

Buckingham
Hello Matt

Hello Matt

How kind of you to reply.

OK, another dumb question - what are 'mixer settings'???

I should also mention that the problem exists with the built-in mic. Headphones + mic do not help.

Thanks!

Matt Whitlock
First, make sure that you don

First, make sure that you don't have something else plugged into the external microphone input. That will override the built in mic.

"Mixer" settings is a program on your computer that manages the volume and input levels for your computer's audio card. The problem is, every computer is a little different based on what audio chip and associated software is installed. Take a trip into the Windows Control Panel, and click on "Sounds and Audio" devices. Under the "Audio" tab, there should be a button labeled "volume" under "Sound playback" and "Sound recording" These should take you to the appropriate mixers. Hopefully that will get you on the right track.

There may be other software that contols your audio card, so you may need to do a little hunting around your computer for the appropriate programs. 

Good luck!

Buckingham
Matt,

Matt,

Thanks SO much - it worked!

As a token of my thanks, I will donate £5 tomorrow to the charity of your choice. Just let me know which one is your favourite.

Thanks again!

Matt Whitlock
You're welcome for the help.